HRH Sheikh Khalifa

Abu Dhabi Royal Family

The Al Nahyan family has ruled Abu Dhabi since the 16th century. The Al Nahyan dynasty originally started out as fishermen and the family tradition has remained in that the oldest living male has always become the ruler of Abu Dhabi. Today, all sons of the ruler are active members of the Government acting as Ministers.

The original tribe was located in Liwa Oasis, but then Al Bu Falah migrated to modern Abu Dhabi in 1793 and a subsection was named the Al Nahyan Family. They are the present rulers of Abu Dhabi. The favored past ruler in Abu Dhabi is His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan al Nahyan who started his rule in 1966 and helped create the UAE in 1971. His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan is the eldest son of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan al Nahyan and the second President of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the 16th Ruler of the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, the UAE’s capital and the largest of the seven Emirates which comprise the UAE.


HRH Sheikh Mohammed

Dubai Royal Family

The Al Maktoum family descends from the Al Bu Falasah section of the Bani Yas, a highly respected and authoritative tribal federation that was the dominant power throughout most of what is now the UAE. The Al Maktoum family reign as rulers of Dubai has been in existence since 1833. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum  is the third son of Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum’s four sons (members of Dubai’s ruling Al Maktoum family and descendants of the House of Al-Falasi, of which he is the tribal leader).

Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum is currently the Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai. Since his accession in February 2006 and as a visionary leader there have been many major reforms in the UAE’s Government and growth of Dubai in being a global city. Sheikh Mohammed has overseen the development of numerous economically transformational projects in Dubai including the creation of technology parks, free economic zones, Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City, the Dubai International Finance Centre, the Palm Islands and the iconic Burj Al Arab hotel and the construction of the Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world.


List of Rulers of the other five Emirates

Sharjah - Al Qasimi Dynasty

Fujairah - Al Sharqi Dynasty

Ras al-Khaimah - Al Qasimi Dynasty

Umm al-Quwain - Al Mu’alla Dynasty

Ajman - Al Qaratsa Al Bu Khurayban Al Nuaim Dynasty